Canada's most authoritative and exciting grocery b2b publication
Industry NewsFour grocery retailers recognized with retailing excellence awards

Four grocery retailers recognized with retailing excellence awards

Award of Distinction Winners: Jennifer Grimm – LUX Beauty, Dr. George Soleas – LCBO, Walter Lamothe – Bentley & Co LTD – Excellence in Retailing Awards Winners on stage (CNW Group/Retail Council of Canada)

Farm Boy, Metro, Pattison Food Group and Walmart Canada were among the winners of the 2024 Excellence in Retailing Awards announced during the Retail Council of Canada’s STORE conference at a gala on May 28.

This year’s Excellence in Retailing Awards competition saw 65 finalists vying for the top accolades. In total there were 16 winners. In addition, Awards of Distinction and nineteen Retail Education scholarships were also presented during the gala.

The outstanding innovations recognized this year reflect the retail industry’s proactive response to current challenges. From prioritizing employee mental and physical well-being, to revolutionizing store design for enhanced customer experiences, embracing sustainable practices, reinforcing loss prevention measures, and actively engaging in philanthropic initiatives to support communities, these remarkable achievements have pushed the boundaries of retail excellence.  

“The winners of the Excellence in Retailing Awards have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to providing unparalleled customer service, adopting innovative business strategies, and showcasing exemplary leadership,” saya Diane J. Brisebois, president and CEO of Retail Council of Canada. “I also extend my heartfelt congratulations to this year’s distinguished recipients of the Awards of Distinction: Dr. George Soleas from LCBO, Walter Lamothe from Bentley & Co. Ltd, and Jennifer Grimm from LUX Beauty. Their groundbreaking contributions have left a lasting positive impact on their employees, customers, colleagues, and communities. Their visionary guidance and remarkable business expertise have significantly elevated the retail landscape in Canada.”

Among the sixteen students awarded Retail Education Scholarships, three received additional honors. Hafiz Umair Islam received the Canadian Retail Hall of Fame Scholarship, Ethan Drohomirecki was honoured with the JRoss Recruiters Scholarship, and Glancy Macwan was awarded the John C. Williams Group Scholarship.

Here is the full list of the 2024 Excellence in Retailing Awards Winners 

Award CategoryWinner
eCommerce ExperienceMetro Inc.
Environmental LeadershipCanada Goose
Environmental LeadershipGoodwill Industries of Alberta
Health, Safety & WellnessWalmart Canada
In-Store Experience & DesignFarm Boy Inc.
In-Store Experience & DesignSleep Country Canada
In-Store MerchandisingStaples Canada
Loss PreventionLCBO
Omni-ChannelCanadian Tire Corporation
Philanthropic LeadershipBest Buy Canada
Philanthropic LeadershipTim Hortons
Pop-Up Experience and DesignSephora Canada
Retail MarketingIKEA Canada
Retail MarketingPattison Food Group
Supply Chain InnovationsLee Valley Tools
Talent DevelopmentLCBO

Follow us:

Recent Issues

Related Articles