The Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers (CFIG) recognized grocers for their success during the Grocery & Specialty Food West trade show and conference at a gala dinner on April 25. 

Independent grocery stores from every region in Canada compete for awards in the Specialty, Large, Medium and Small surface categories. Each store entered is evaluated for retail excellence and rate on its customer service, staff, department management, store layout, merchandising, creativity, cleanliness, and community involvement.

HERITAGE AWARD - Arnold Rands Award

The Heritage Award is for the best multigenerational grocery store that is privately owned and has been in the same family for at least two generations and in the same community for a minimum of 35 years.

Winner: Wayne, Harmina, Peter and Kathy Richmond, 49th Parallel Grocery Ladysmith, Ladysmith, B.C.

 Arnold Rands Heritage Award 49th parallel 49th Parallel team was the Arnold Rands Heritage Award recipient

NATIONAL AWARDS – Specialty Category

Gold, silver and bronze awards to the top-scoring entries in specialty food retailing. 


David C. Parsons Award (GOLD)

Will & Ingrid Willemsen, Tracy Morrow, and Team, Sunripe Sarnia, Sarnia, Ont.

 SLV1504 specialty goldSpecialty Gold award: Sunripe Sarnia, Sarnia, Ont.

Silver Award

Market By Longo's - Imperial Plaza Team, Toronto, Ont.


Bronze Award

Brad McMullen, Christy McMullen and Robert McMullen, Summerhill Market – Bathurst Street,

Toronto, Ont.



Large Surface

Gold: Scottsdale Centre Team

Save-On-Foods - Scottsdale Centre, Delta, B.C.

  SLV1563 Gold Large surfaceGold Large Surface award: Save-On-Foods, Scottsdale Centre, Delta, B.C.

Silver: Longo's - Yonge & Sheppard Team

Longo's - Yonge & Sheppard, Toronto, Ont.


Bronze: Daniel Plouffe

Metro Plouffe de Sherbrooke – boul Bourque, Sherbrooke, Que.

Regional: Darryl Jacques and Team members

Freson Bros. Drumheller, Drumheller, Alta.


Medium Surface

Gold: Longo’s Liberty Village Team

Longo's - Liberty Village, Toronto, Ont.

 SLV1544 Gold Medium surfaceGold Medium Surface award: Longo's Liberty Village team, Toronto, Ont.

Silver: Dave Powell, Adam Powell, John Pritchett and John Mercer

Powell's - Bay Roberts, Bay Roberts, N.L.


Bronze: Arden Fowler, Devon Crane and Team

Stong's Markets - Northwoods, North Vancouver, B.C.


Regional: Cam Bowman and Team members

Freson Bros. Hinton Valley, Hinton, Alta.


Small Surface

Gold: Urban Fare - Mount Royal Team

Urban Fare - Mount Royal, Calgary, Alta.

  SLV1513 Gold Small SurfaceGold Small Surface winner: Urban Fare, Mount Royal team, Calgary, Alta.

Silver: Joe Greco, Anthony Greco, Rina Virgilio and Michael Abballe

Greco's Fresh Markets - Oak Ridges, Richmond Hill, Ont.


Bronze: Lorraine Coleman and Team

Belbin's Grocery, St. John’s, N.L.


Regional: Nesters Market - Kelowna Airport Team

Nesters Market - Kelowna Airport, Kelowna, B.C.



Top-scoring stores from the four Canadian regions in the small, medium

and large size categories.



Bronze, silver and gold awards are presented to the top-scoring stores in

the small, medium and large size categories.



The award recognizes a store that has demonstrated consistent excellence. A store must win at least three gold awards or one platinum achievement award and two gold awards.

James Inglis, Doug Nakano & Team, Blind Bay Village Grocer Ltd, Blind Bay, B.C.

  SLV1567 hall of fame blind bayHall of Fame: James Inglis, Doug Nakano & team, Blind Bay Village Grocer, Blind Bay, B.C.


Sydney-Anne Porter, Eric Lapointe, Greg Lapointe

AG Valley Foods

Invermere, B.C.


James Inglis, Doug Nakano & Team

Blind Bay Village Grocer Ltd.

Blind Bay, B.C.


Buy-Low Foods – Oliver and Team

Buy-Low Foods – Oliver

Oliver, B.C.


Longo’s – Milton Team

Longo's – Milton

Milton, Ont.


Rob Kerr, Rob Howie and Team

Quality Foods Courtenay

Courtenay, B.C.


Jim and Vicki Bexis, Peter and Augusta Vacirtzoglou

Sun Valley Supermarket Inc.

Scarborough, Ont.


Share your company and people news with the industry.
Contact Mary Scianna, editorial director ([email protected]) or
Stacey Newman, content manager ([email protected])

Back to Top